New to Kiting, but which one ? - Kitecrowd Kite Forum
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Kiting, but which one ?

New to Kiting, but which one ?

Hey guys n gals, im new to kiting and need a few pointers...

1. Should i buy a kite first?

2. Should i just buy everything?
    ie like 3 m, 7 m 12 m (boarding)

3. or a 5 m ?! ?!?!

any advice would b dope.

Alex!

2. Remove Advertisements
    KiteCrowd.com
    Advertisements

I think you should buy a kite first. You'd look rather silly waving your hands backwards and forwards without one

How old are you, how much do you weight, what experience have you got of flying kites. All these factors will affect what type and size of kite to get. As a beginner you should be looking at kites like the Buster, Rage, Sting, Bullet, Samurai, Little Devil probably around the 3m mark.

im 18, 5ft 8-9 :P , i weigh somet like 10.5 stone, ive had one session of kiting on a 3 meter riot.
    maybe i should get a depowerable kite? with a bar?

5. Remove Advertisements
    KiteCrowd.com
    Advertisements

Most people start with fixed bridle kites (not depower) as these are easier to fly and get the feel of how a kite and the wind feels. This is the recommended route tbh. Get something like a rage/sami/little devil type kite. Low aspect fixed bridle. Fly this for a couple of months then youll be more ready for bigger depower kites! Also get a go on a few before you buy, its alot of money to spend!

Chris

i learnt to fly on a Beamer 2.5m, great kites, but seen as you're bigger than me maybe the 3.6m would be more suited?????

EDIT : i would also recommend that you try different kites before you buy, as then you can get one that you like......
    Last edited by kite crazy; 1st November 2006 at 12:52. Reason: im editing because i didnt answer fully...

Newbies Ahoy!